The right BIM Solution

Setting-up the BIM guideline and the BIM quality control for three pilot projects

AEC3 was commissioned to set up a guideline and to perform an accompanying quality control for three BIM pilot projects of the US Army Corps of Engineers. They were coordinated by the Nurnberg building authorities and supervised by the CAD-Stelle Bayern.

The BIM guideline for architects and engineers

Building Information Modeling, BIM, is a new way of planning and coordinating a project. With BIM generating consistent building models the planning procedures of architects and engineers can be facilitated as well as the construction companies’ preparations and the transfer of all the relevant data for the Facility Management. But all in all BIM increases the planning and cost certainty as well as the transparency for the client.

There is more and more specialisation in the construction business, the experts are more and more spread out geographically, in their fields of expertise and the way they are organized. As they all use different software applications it is quite challenging to cooperate successfully in the sense of building information modeling.
That's why it is important for the implementation and the use of BIM to sort out organisational and contractual issues as well as clarify the roles and responsibilities among the participants. The BIM guideline establishes a base for that.

The BIM guideline comprises of the following three parts:

  • Part 1 - BIM Overview
  • Part 2 - BIM for Architecture and BIM for MEP
  • Part 3 - Catalogue of Architecture BIM objects & Catalogue of MEP BIM objects
In the overview terms are elaborated, roles and responsibilities described and BIM management explained. The requirements for BIM capable software systems and for the non-proprietary exchange of building models using openBIM standards are formulated independently of any software application.

Part 2 - BIM for Architecture and BIM for MEP - This part is focused on the specific planning requirements of these disciplines. It also contains the separate discipline models, the respective levels of detail for the different work stages and the merging of the discipline models into one.

Part 3 - catalogues of BIM objects - It contains the individual model elements and their required properties for the respective work stages. These detailed requirements define the building model’s exchange quality for the client.

On the basis of this BIM guideline the first BIM guide for Germany was elaborated.

Catalogue of BIM objects - Architecture - model element 'wall'

Quality control for the BIM data exchange

The quality for architecture and technical building services models were examined. The following test criteria were used:
  • General requirements according to the recognized state-of-the-art
  • Geometrical requirements
  • Additional alphanumerical data that are to be maintained within the building model
The original building model’s quality was tested initially by examining the geometry visually first, the model’s structural set-up second and the attached alphanumerical data last.

The general examination of the exchanged IFC model followed afterwards. An IFC Syntax Checker was used to analyse the IFC model’s syntax. An IFC/BIM Viewer was used to check the project’s structural integrity. This tool also helped to verify the geometry’s correctness and the completeness of the individual model elements. Other agreed-upon checks like the standard BIM validation were also done with the viewer. Room, window and door schedules were generated and validated exemplarily.


Standard BIM-Validierung in einem IFC/BIM-Viewer - Deckenöffnung für den Aufzugsschacht fehlt

Both discipline models were merged in the end in order to do clash detection.

By choosing IFC as the file format all of the checks could be done independently of any proprietary software. As a result the architecture model and the IFC exchange were of very good quality already.

< back to references

© 2013 AEC3 Deutschland GmbH     I     LEGAL NOTICE     I     CONTACT    
AEC3 auf XING  AEC3 auf LinkedIn

Die richtige BIM Lösung

Erstellung der BIM-Richtlinie und die BIM-Qualitätskontrolle für drei BIM-Pilotprojekte

Für drei BIM-Pilotprojekte des US Army Corps of Engineers, koordiniert durch das Staatliche Bauamt Nürnberg und begleitet durch die CAD-Stelle Bayern, wurde AEC3 beauftragt eine BIM-Richtlinie zu erstellen und eine begleitende BIM-Qualitätskontrolle durchzuführen.

Die BIM Richtlinie für Architekten und Ingenieure

Building Information Modeling, BIM, ist eine neue Methode der Planung und Projektabwicklung. BIM unterstützt mit dem Aufbau von konsistenten Gebäudemodellen den Planungsablauf der Architekten und Ingenieure, die Vorbereitung der Bauausführung in den Baufirmen sowie die Übernahme der bewirtschaftungsrelevanten Gebäudedaten für das Facility Management. Vor allem aber erhöht BIM die Planungs- und Kostensicherheit und die Transparenz für den Bauherrn.

Die fortschreitende Spezialisierung im Bauwesen, die zunehmende räumliche, inhaltliche und organisatorische Trennung der Fachleute und der Einsatz unterschiedlicher Softwareprogramme stellen eine hohe Anforderung an die gemeinsame Projektarbeit im Sinne des Building Information Modeling. Daher müssen bei der Einführung und Nutzung von BIM auch die organisatorischen und vertragsrechtlichen Fragen und die Rollen und Zuständigkeiten der Beteiligten geklärt und vereinbart werden. Die BIM-Richtlinie bietet dazu eine Grundlage.

Die BIM Richtlinie besteht aus folgenden drei Teilen:

  • Teil 1 - BIM Allgemeiner Teil
  • Teil 2 - BIM für Architektur & BIM für Haustechnik
  • Teil 3 - BIM-Objektkatalog Architektur & BIM-Objektkatalog Haustechnik
Im allgemeinen Teil werden die Begriffe geklärt, Rollen und Verantwortlichkeiten beschrieben und das BIM Management erläutert. Die Anforderungen an BIM-fähige Softwaresysteme und an den neutralen Austausch von Gebäudemodellen über open-BIM Standards werden softwareneutral formuliert.

Teil 2 - BIM für Architektur und Haustechnik - stellt die konkreten Anforderungen an die Planung für diese Fachdisziplinen in den Mittelpunkt. Die fachspezifischen Gebäudemodelle der einzelnen Fachdisziplinen, deren geforderter Fertigstellungsgrad in den Leistungsphasenphasen und das Zusammenfassen einzelner Fachmodelle zu einem Gesamtmodell werden beschrieben.

Teil 3 - BIM-Objektkataloge - beschreibt die einzelnen Modellelemente und deren geforderte Merkmale in den jeweiligen Planungsphasen. Diese detaillierten Anforderungen definieren die Übergabequalität des Gebäudemodells an den Bauherrn.

Unter Berücksichtigung dieser BIM-Richtlinie wurde der erste BIM-Leitfaden für Deutschland ausgearbeitet.

BIM-Objektkatalog Architektur - Modellelement WAND

Qualitätsüberprüfung der BIM Datenübergabe

Es wurde die Qualität des Architekturmodells und des Haustechnikmodells überprüft. Dabei wurden folgende Testkriterien verwendet:
  • Allgemeine Anforderungen nach dem anerkannten Stand der Technik
  • Geometrische Anforderungen
  • Zusätzliche im Gebäudemodell zupflegende alphanumerische Daten
Zunächst wurde die Qualität des Originalmodells getestet, zuerst die Geometrie mittels visueller Prüfung, dann der strukturelle Aufbau des Modells, und schließlich die angelegten alphanumerischen Daten.

Anschließend folgte die allgemeine Prüfung des übergebenen IFC-Modells. Mit einem IFC Syntax Checker wurde eine Syntax Prüfung des IFC-Modells durchgeführt. Mit einem IFC/BIM-Viewer erfolgte die Überprüfung der Projektstruktur. Des weiteren wurden im Viewer auch die Korrektheit der Geometrie und die Vollständigkeit der alphanumerischen Daten der einzelnen Modellelemente getestet. Diverse vereinbarte Regelprüfungen, wie z.B. die Standard BIM-Validierung, wurden auch im Viewer durchgeführt, Raum- Fenster- und Türlisten exemplarisch erstellt und auf Vollständigkeit überprüft.


Standard BIM-Validierung in einem IFC/BIM-Viewer - Deckenöffnung für den Aufzugsschacht fehlt

Im Anschluss daran wurden beide Fachmodelle für eine Kollisionsprüfung zusammengeführt und getestet.

Durch die Wahl von IFC als Abgabeformat konnten sämtliche Prüfungen Software-unabhängig durchgeführt werden. Die Qualität des Architekturfachmodells sowie die IFC-Übergabe war bereits sehr hochwertig.

< zurück zur Übersicht Referenzen

© 2013 AEC3 Deutschland GmbH     I     IMPRESSUM     I     KONTAKT    
AEC3 auf XING  AEC3 auf LinkedIn